Scottish Food & Drink Fortnight is a nationwide event which supports and promotes Scotland’s produce and the people who grow, make, cook and sell it.

Once again, the Fortnight is encouraging the great Scottish public to take part by changing just one thing (#onethingfortnight) about how much Scottish food and drink they buy and eat.

This year’s celebration will take place between Saturday 2nd September to Sunday 17th September 2017 inclusive, and we would love everyone across Scotland, of all ages, to join in to champion Scotland’s delicious larder and change one thing (#onethingfortnight) for 2017.

Tying in with the Year of History, Heritage and Archaeology, Scottish Food & Drink Fortnight is profiling the following daily food themes and asking everyone, to simply change one thing (#onethingfortnight):

Sat 2nd Sept Picnic                                Sun 10th Sept Weekend lunch
Sun 3rd Sept Afternoon tea                  Mon 11th Sept Coffee break
Mon 4th Sept Office meeting                Tues 12th Sept Breakfast
Tues 5th Sept Packed lunch                  Wed 13th Sept Family meal
Wed 6th Sept TV dinner                        Thurs 14th Sept Street food
Thurs 7th Sept Sport snack                   Fri 15th Sept BBQ
Fri 8th Sept Children’s party                  Sat 16th Sept Fine dining
Sat 9th Sept Drinks party                      Sun 17th Sept Brunch

Fiona Richmond, Head of Regional Food, said:

“Using the daily themes as inspiration, we are searching the archives for historical recipes and asking chefs to provide us with recipes that offer their own modern take on a theme. We will be sharing these recipes, old and new, with the public, alongside other fascinating and delicious hints, tips and facts about Scottish food and drink.

“All the while, we’ll asking people to make use of these ideas to change ‘#onethingfortnight’ about the way in which they interact with Scottish produce. For example, an office worker may switch to Scotch Beef or Scottish Salmon in their daily sandwich; families may seek out Scottish labels on food and drink at the supermarket or visit their local butcher or baker – the possibilities are endless.

“Just one change can make a huge difference, so please do get involved and let us know what you are doing to support the Fortnight. We’ll be offering a prize at the end of the Fortnight to the person we deem to have been the most dedicated supporter of the campaign on social media and who has best embraced the #onethingfortnight ethos. Journalists and bloggers will also be in the running for their own prize if they show their support!”

Scottish Food & Drink Fortnight 2017 will be officially launched at the start of September at an event in Glasgow at which more detail will be unveiled.